Skip to main content

Stuck with Android LWUIT port. Someone help me please.

Please note these java.net forums are being decommissioned and use the new and improved forums at https://community.oracle.com/community/java.
4 replies [Last post]
omar.valerio

Hi fellow developers,

I should start by saying that I am new to Android development, but I have already around six months experience developing with LWUIT for JME MIDP 2.0. The application I have been working in is about to be ported into Android and I thought it would be nice if I could keep all those nice forms and sweet looking UI. Therefore I read about Android port in the lwuit-incubator forum. I found this interesting and I want to give it a try. I started by downloading the Ant scripts and demo application provided by thorsten_s in his website www.pader-sync.com/lwuit-for-blackberry-and-android.html

So far I have do the following:

I downloaded the sources for LWUIT IO and UI directly from the LWUIT SVN repository as well as thorsten_s Android sources from the LWUIT-INCUBATOR SVN. Then I modified the Ant script provided by thorsten_s to create a LWUIT-Android source port.

<property name="lwuit.repo" value="${basedir}\lwuit\trunk" />
<property name="lwuit.incubator.repo" value="${basedir}\lwuit-incubator\trunk" />

<copy todir="${mysources}" verbose="true">
<!-- LWUIT sources -->
<fileset dir="${lwuit.repo}\IO\src">
<exclude name="**/.svn/**"/>
</fileset>
<fileset dir="${lwuit.repo}\UI\src">
</fileset>
<!-- ANDROID sources -->
<fileset dir="${lwuit.incubator.repo}\thorsten_s\android">
</fileset>
</copy>

I then follow up by replacing the com.sun.lwuit.impl.ImplementationFactory class from the LWUIT sources with the one provided by thorsten_s

I then create an activity which extend com.sun.lwuit.impl.android.LWUITActivity. and use the onCreate() method to initialize the LWUIT Display.