Skip to main content

Concerns about Java 8

1 reply [Last post]
NuxlyStardust

Hey there !

I've checked the planed features for Java 8 today and had a few concerns I'd like to discuss here, in case someone worries about the same thing.

Interfaces

First thing I'd like to talk about is the default keyword. This keyword will sure remove many design limitations but I'm concerned about using it in an "interface" block (maybe I'm just rigid-minded or something). Correct me if I'm wrong, but if you add any line of code in an interface, then it's no longer an interface...right?
I'm just a student so I maybe I don't yet have the experience to discuss the semantics, but here's how I understand it: a class consists of two parts, being the interface and the implementation, and the "interface" keywords allows the programmers to define the interface separately from the implementation, to be able to use it in several polymorphic classes. Did I get it right?
Because then this concept of "default" method is in contradiction with the concept of interface. An interface that contains a default method (thus a default implementation, which has nothing to do with an interface) is no longer an interface.

What about giving a different to the entire structure then? We could, for example, have "interfaces" which would have the same role as they have right now, and a different type of structure that would allow definition of default methods (like "module").

public interface Edible {

public void cook();
    public void eat();
    public void drink();

}
public module Edible {

public default void cook() {

Oven.bake(this);

}

public void eat();
    public void drink();

}

Optional

I've noticed the Optional, OptionalInt, ... classes, but I don't know if there are more features like this one.
I'm afraid it gives programmers too much rope to hang themselves with...