Skip to main content

JavaFx 2.2.21 DataApp example questions

Please note these forums are being decommissioned and use the new and improved forums at
1 reply [Last post]

Downloaded JavaFx 2.2.21 examples

Java SE Development Kit 7 Downloads
JavaFX Demos and Samples Downloads
Windows 19.55 MB

Looking at DataApp because reading the Apress book 'Pro JavaFx 2.0' says 'JavaFX 2.0 introduces the JavaFX Beans specification that adds properties support to Java objects through the help of the properties classes from the JavaFX 2.0 properties and bindings framework...with two Properties Strategies: Eagerly Instantiated, Lazily Instantiated.'

I'm new to JavaFX 2.0 (and Java) and have heard IDEs like NetBeans have wizards for bindings, properties, annotation type things? Are there wizards for the new JavaFx 2.0 Beans? Probably not. No JavaFx Beans Wizards that I can see.

Maybe Oracle/ could use some more JavaFx 2.0 Beans examples?

Anyway, Have trouble right away following the DataApp README

1. Install the MySQL drivers into GlassFish. Manually copy the mysql-connector-java-5.1.13-bin.jar file from the netbeans-install-dir\ide\modules\ext\ to the glassfish-install-dir/glassfish/lib directory, where netbeans-install-dir and glassfish-install-dir are the directories into which the products were installed. For example, on Windows the install directory for products is typically in the C:\Program Files\ or C:\Program Files (x86)\ directories.

$ find '/c/Program Files/NetBeans 7.3/java/modules' -iname 'mysql*jar'

Found MySQL jar MySQL website
[MySQL 5.6-latest] Download Connector/J

Where do I place this file in NetBeans?

Anyway, placed mysql jar in Glassfish lib (but not in NetBeans)

Using MySQL jar is next immediate problem

From glassfish asadmin> I try: