Skip to main content

Swinglabs/SwingX checkup

2 replies [Last post]
Tycosson

Hi there,

I'm new to SwingLabs/SwingX and possibly interested in using it for my company's applications. But first, I need to know about a few things :

• Community
    I read the project was droped by Sun in 2007 (or something like that) for JavaFX and that the community gave up on it.
    Then I found this place, and it seems the project started again at the end of 2010.
    Still, I can't find any releases and some web pages don't exist anymore, but it seems to be a migration problem... right ?
    So... what's the story ?
  • Releases
    Is it still being maintained ? Are there frequent releases ? Or are there gonna be ?
  • Stability
    I'm not looking for a bug-free API, but is it reliable/stable ?

Regards,

Laurent.

Reply viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
kschaefe

[quote=Tycosson]Community
I read the project was droped by Sun in 2007 (or something like that) for JavaFX and that the community gave up on it.
Then I found this place, and it seems the project started again at the end of 2010.
Still, I can't find any releases and some web pages don't exist anymore, but it seems to be a migration problem... right ?
So... what's the story ?[/quote]

This project never had any correlation with JavaFX.  Some Sun folks did stop contributing when they started working on JavaFX, but most of the active development has been from non-Sun/non-Oracle individuals.

Most of the SwingX site stuff has been hosed since the java.net migration.

[quote=Tycosson]Releases
Is it still being maintained ? Are there frequent releases ? Or are there gonna be ?[/quote]