Skip to main content

wwyt: A conditional compilation pre-processor

No replies
heyjude123

I'm new to Java, as a long-time C++ programmer, one of the problems I have to tackle is conditional compilation. Java doesn't support (as far as I know), so I searched up and down for a solution. I did find a few, but unfortunately, none of them fit my needs perfectly. So I decided to do one myself. Thiniking that this tool might be helpful for others, so I enhanced it a little to make it more suitable for use by the public, created a web page for it, and publish it as a freeware. So, here it is:
This tool, called wwyt, is a pre-processor that converts Java source files that contain conditional compilation directives (defaults are #if, #else, #elif, and #endif. But just in case these names conflict with other tools, like documentation tools or whatever, wwyt allows you to choose from a few pre-defined sets of names as an alternative.) wwyt will process these directives and create a new file. After compilation, you should use wwyt again to restore the converted files back to their original state. Here is an example of a file embedded with wwyt directives:
public String getVersionName()
{
String name;

/* #if RELEASE && VER1
name = "Standard Release R1";
#elif RELEASE && VER2
name = "Standard Release R2";
#elif RELEASE && !(VER2 || VER2)
name = "Standard Release R3";
#else */
name = "Internal Debug Build";
// #endif

return name;
}
Use this command line to pre-process this file (note that the symbols RELEASE and VER2 are defined in the command line):
>wwyt prepro -s MyClass.java RELEASE VER2
A new file will be created, and it will contain statements like following:
public String getVersionName()
{
String name;

name = "Standard Release R2";

return name;
}