Skip to main content

Incorrect setup...please help

5 replies [Last post]
jorge.ryan
Offline
Joined: 2012-06-05
Points: 0

I just installed glassfish and eclipse. I clicked "run" in eclipse to see if everything is good. it pops the following:

GlassFish v3 requires a JDK 1.6 and not a JRE. Please add/select the correct JDK in the Server properties 'Runtime Environment' section.

how should I fix it?

Reply viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
annaharris
Offline
Joined: 2012-04-08
Points: 0

I was facing same problems, but this worked for me:
1. Open Eclipse
2. Select 'Help -> Install New Software'
3. Add https://ajax.dev.java.net/eclipse as a new repository
Save and apply changes. Please note the use of 'https' in the URL.

vitaniya
Offline
Joined: 2012-06-16
Points: 0

I just hve the same question with you ~~~~~

jorge.ryan
Offline
Joined: 2012-06-05
Points: 0

go to eclipse > preference > java > installed jre
add a jdk folder
second click server > runtime environment
edit > jre > select a newly added jdk

mgwmgw
Offline
Joined: 2009-03-23
Points: 0

The difference between a JDK and a JRE is that a JDK can compile java,
and a JRE can just run Java.

The value of JAVA_HOME may be pointing to a JRE instead of a JDK.

jorge.ryan
Offline
Joined: 2012-06-05
Points: 0

Could you point me to the variable JAVA_HOME? is it in the Eclipse or somewhere else in windows?
I didn't find in System Properties in My Computer nor in eclipse.