Skip to main content

UpdateTool proxy server??

6 replies [Last post]
Yoshimitsu
Offline
Joined: 2013-03-21
Points: 0

Hi,

I am currently reading the Oracle J2EE 6 Tutorial and trying to get started with Glassfish.

I installed Glassfish but am unable to launch the updatetool. I am first prompted with, "The software needed for this command (updatetool) is not installed."

I click 'Y' to specify I would like to download it and I get the message below.

Could not download application packages. This could be because:
- a proxy server is needed to access the internet. Please ensure that
the system proxy server settings in your Internet Options control panel
(under Connections:LAN Settings) are correct, or set the HTTP_PROXY
environment variable to the full URL of the proxy server.
- the package server or network connection is slow.
If you are getting time out errors you can try setting the
PKG_CLIENT_CONNECT_TIMEOUT and PKG_CLIENT_READ_TIMEOUT
environment variables and try again. For example to increase
the timeouts to 300 seconds set them to 300
- the package server is down or otherwise inaccessible or it is
generating invalid data. Please contact the provider of the package
server.

I checked under Connections:LAN settings, and I do not have a proxy server setup. What do I need to set my proxy server to? I have no idea on this. Please help!

Thanks in advance...

Reply viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
Jeremy_Lv
Offline
Joined: 2012-02-14
Points: 0

Yoshimitsu:
you can try to add proxy in line:

Your options would then go into the appropriate section:

/domain/configs/config/java-config/

...and would look like this:
http.proxyHost=XXXXX
http.proxyPort=XXXXX

thanks

Yoshimitsu
Offline
Joined: 2013-03-21
Points: 0

Hi Jeremy,

I've never used a proxy server before so have no clue what proxyHost and proxyPort to use. I have been doing some research on proxy's and I'm a bit confused about how to proceed. Do I need to download some proxy software and setup my own server or something or should I be able to configure my systems firewall somehow?

Also, I'm on Windows 8.

Thanks,

Jason

jfdipol
Online
Joined: 2007-08-16
Points: 0

The error you are seeing is usually caused by either an HTTP proxy issue, or a network bandwidth/latency issue. I've written up a quick blog that gives some tips that may help:

https://blogs.oracle.com/dipol/entry/troubleshooting_glassfish_update_center

Yoshimitsu
Offline
Joined: 2013-03-21
Points: 0

Hi jfdipol,

Thanks for writing up that bit of useful information!

My problem ended up being that I needed to specify a proxy server in my GlassFish configurations.

Thanks,

Yoshimitsu

Jeremy_Lv
Offline
Joined: 2012-02-14
Points: 0

Yoshimitsu:

I think your company will master the proxy server if it is needed and if it is your personal network, I think you needn't set the proxy.

If you are sure to set the proxy and reset the PKG_CLIENT_CONNECT_TIMEOUT and you still can't update the tool, maybe the package server is down or otherwise inaccessible or it is
generating invalid data.

BTW: you can list your steps here so that I can try to help you in my platform.

Thanks

Yoshimitsu
Offline
Joined: 2013-03-21
Points: 0

Hi Jeremy_Lv,

My problem ended up being that I needed to specify a proxy server in my GlassFish configurations.

Thanks for all your replies and help!

Yoshimitsu