Skip to main content

Flushing Connection Pool

4 replies [Last post]
anderson.cruz
Offline
Joined: 2012-05-03
Points: 0

Hello everyone,

I downloaded the last version of Glassfish server 3.1.2.2 and made all configurations to deploy my app, but when I was configuring the Connection Pool ( for Oracle Database ) and test Ping, works fine, but I can't say the same for Flush in this Connection Pool.

Always I receive the message " Flush Connection Pool did not happen as pool - MyPool is not initialized"

What it really means ? what i did wrong to not initialize this Pool ? I have to configure one Conector Connection Pools for this resource ? What I have to do to work with Pooling in Glassfish server ?

I already research this in internet but could not find anything who might solve this.

Thanks.

Best Regards.

Anderson Cruz.

Reply viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
smsiebe
Offline
Joined: 2009-02-19
Points: 0

From my experience, what I assume is happening is that the connection pool
is lazily initialized (just configuring a connection pool doesn't create
connections). If you create a pool in the admin console, and click on
"flush" you'll get this error. If you create this pool (and a connection
resource), deploy an application that uses this resource (lets say
JPA initialization on deployment for example), you'll be able to flush the
pool...because there is one.

Again, this is based on my observations, I have never dug into the code to
verify this.

S

On Sun, Aug 26, 2012 at 10:56 AM, wrote:

> Hello everyone, I downloaded the last version of Glassfish server 3.1.2.2
> and
> made all configurations to deploy my app, but when I was configuring the
> Connection Pool ( for Oracle Database ) and test Ping, works fine, but I
> can't say the same for Flush in this Connection Pool. Always I receive the
> message " Flush Connection Pool did not happen as pool - MyPool is not
> initialized" What it really means ? what i did wrong to not initialize this
> Pool ? I have to configure one Conector Connection Pools for this resource
> ?
> What I have to do to work with Pooling in Glassfish server ? I already
> research this in internet but could not find anything who might solve this.
> Thanks. Best Regards. Anderson Cruz.
>
> --
>
> [Message sent by forum member 'anderson.cruz']
>
> View Post: http://forums.java.net/node/**889565
>
>
>

anderson.cruz
Offline
Joined: 2012-05-03
Points: 0

Thanks for give me some direction ;)

The environment I'm setup is a cluster with 2 nodes. Previously the deployable app was JPA, but the developers change it to JTA for ( is that correct ? assuming the production will be cluster ). There are any specific configuration that I have to set in my app to "initialize the pool" ( JTA / JPA ) or just the default assumptions of JTA/JPA do it ?

It's not a first time I tried to deploy this App. I re-installed this cluster from scratch to make sure everything is right. The last deploy I tried in the old one fail in this scenario you describe ( app consuming connection resource target to connection pool ).

Any tough would be helpful.

Thanks again.

Best Regards.

Anderson Cruz

mvatkina
Offline
Joined: 2005-04-04
Points: 0

Do you mean it was using RESOURCE_LOCAL EM and you switched it to JTA type?

forums@java.net wrote:
> Thanks for give me some direction ;) The environment I'm setup is a
> cluster
> with 2 nodes. Previously the deployable app was JPA, but the developers
> change it to JTA for ( is that correct ? assuming the production will be
> cluster ). There are any specific configuration that I have to set in
> my app
> to "initialize the pool" ( JTA / JPA ) or just the default assumptions of
> JTA/JPA do it ? It's not a first time I tried to deploy this App. I
> re-installed this cluster from scratch to make sure everything is
> right. The
> last deploy I tried in the old one fail in this scenario you describe
> ( app
> consuming connection resource target to connection pool ). Any tough
> would be
> helpful. Thanks again. Best Regards. Anderson Cruz
>
> --
>
> [Message sent by forum member 'anderson.cruz']
>
> View Post: http://forums.java.net/node/889565
>
>

smsiebe
Offline
Joined: 2009-02-19
Points: 0

JPA isn't replaced by JTA...it's hard to speculate what your developers are
saying given the different integration approaches that can be done
with JPA/JTA/EE...(ie perhaps they're now using an extended JTA solution,
perhaps they simply changed some JPA handing from container managed to bean
managed, perhaps they mean the switch from JPA to JDBC and are explicitly
handling the JTA themselves, etc etc).

Have you been successful in deploying this application in a non-clustered
setup? (I ask, because it seems you might not have and removing some
complexity may help diagnose the problems). The application shouldn't
depend on the cluster (decoupled from the platform), so you should be able
to deploy it to a simple single-domain setup. I would suggest trying it on
there...and if you don't have any luck, post the exceptions you find in the
server.log so we can figure out what is going on.

Regards,

S

On Sun, Aug 26, 2012 at 1:00 PM, wrote:

> Thanks for give me some direction ;) The environment I'm setup is a cluster
> with 2 nodes. Previously the deployable app was JPA, but the developers
> change it to JTA for ( is that correct ? assuming the production will be
> cluster ). There are any specific configuration that I have to set in my
> app
> to "initialize the pool" ( JTA / JPA ) or just the default assumptions of
> JTA/JPA do it ? It's not a first time I tried to deploy this App. I
> re-installed this cluster from scratch to make sure everything is right.
> The
> last deploy I tried in the old one fail in this scenario you describe ( app
> consuming connection resource target to connection pool ). Any tough would
> be
> helpful. Thanks again. Best Regards. Anderson Cruz
>
>
> --
>
> [Message sent by forum member 'anderson.cruz']
>
> View Post: http://forums.java.net/node/**889565
>
>
>