Skip to main content

I'm new and need help for my first java program (updated)

Please note these java.net forums are being decommissioned and use the new and improved forums at https://community.oracle.com/community/java.
3 replies [Last post]
2kjava

I'm new to Java and am trying to compile and run my first program using the java development sdk. Although it complies to .class OK, running it using java produces run time errors. Please would some kind person tell me what's wrong as I'm used to using Microsoft IDE for j# and c++.

Also can you recommend a free IDE for java please?

The java program is
/**
* The HelloWorldApp class implements an application that
* simply prints "Hello World!" to standard output.
*/
class HelloWorldApp {
public static void main(String[] args) {
System.out.println("Hello World!"); // Display the string.
}
}

This produces

C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_31\bin>java HelloWorldApp
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: HelloWorldApp/class
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: HelloWorldApp
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:202)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
Could not find the main class: HelloWorldApp. Program will exit.

Any help appreciated!

[update]
I've now installed and have working NetBeans 7.1. This allows me to compile and run my java programs. The jar files produced also work at the command prompt using java -jar ... So I know that I have a working java runtime and development environment.

The problem I experience is if I try to use java command with a .class file containing a main method - even those produced by NetBeans still give the same error as above.