Skip to main content

How to pass event between two applications?

3 replies [Last post]
jeffwg

How to use events to trigger reading of a shared memory buffer?

I have a windows application that I need to notify when a finger scanner detects a known finger template. The finger scanner interface runs as a Java application in the background and is launched by the windows application, written in the development tool WinDev from PC Soft in France.

I am new to Java development and have studied the event processing. However, I am not sure how to set up an event source that is not tied to a GUI object. I don't know what type of event to use or if another application can be the "listener".

I have two Java applications using shared memory but they have to use a thread wait loop to look for changes. I would prefer to use events to notify the action application to read the buffer.

Any suggestions on where to go next would be appreciated.

Reply viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
annaharris

This could be prevented by only allowing access to the same ip address that entered the database record.

egc2224